Five Series To Read If You Love Lord of the Rings

Posted September 29, 2015 by Paula in Books, Geeky Stuff, Top Ten Tuesdays / 2 Comments

Five Series To Read If You Love Lord of the Rings

Top Ten Tuesday is a weekly link-up from The Broke and the Bookish.

If you like Lord of the Rings, then most likely you enjoy high fantasy, lots of characters, and great world building. So, here are five series to read if you love Lord of the Rings, and would like some new worlds to explore.

The Great Book of Amber

This is a series of 10 books. The first five books follow Corwin, and the next five his son, Merlin. Amber is the one true world, and all other worlds are just shadows of it. I love reading about Corwin and his brother’s and sister’s scheming for the throne.

The Farseer Trilogy

I still need to read the last book, but I enjoyed the first two. How Robin Hobb turns Fitz into an assassin makes for an interesting and fun read.

The Inkheart Trilogy

Meggie’s father, Mo, can read characters and objects out of books. Which is the greatest super power ever! Except that when he reads someone or something out, someone or something from our world goes into the book. I love the world in Inkheart, but my favorite thing about the series is reading about characters that love books as much as I do.

The Dark Tower Series

This is Stephen King’s magnum opus, and it is awesome! Roland Deschain is a gunslinger, and he and his Ka-tet are some of the most badass characters ever.

Harry Potter

Of course, I included this series! I don’t know if I would’ve read Harry Potter, if I hadn’t read Lord of the Rings, which was my first real introduction to fantasy books. I want to live in Harry’s world!

Are you a fan of Lord of the Rings? What series would you recommend to someone who is a fan?

I receive no compensation for any links leaving my blog.

Divider

2 responses to “Five Series To Read If You Love Lord of the Rings

  1. Laura

    Ok so, HUGE LotR fan here. When I was in middle school in particular, Tolkien was my LIFE. The other series I might suggest would be the Graceling books by Kristin Cashore.

    I haven’t read a few of these series and will definitely add them to my library list. I find that winter is such a good time for reading fantasy.
    Laura recently posted..What I’m Into : September 2015My Profile

Leave a Reply

CommentLuv badge

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.